RE : (Newbie Hello! / ZX Advice Please?)

General Chit Chat about Sinclair Computers and their Clones
monsterjazzlicks

RE : (Newbie Hello! / ZX Advice Please?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks »

Hi folks,

I am totally new here and I was kindly advised to give this site a look by a couple of members on You-Tube (via their Sinclair video upload threads). I am aged 46 and from the Wirral in the United Kingdom.

Anyway, I am very new to computers myself. I have a Win7 and a Win8.1 PC's (which I use for work and music etc). But, because there was no real computer lessons when I was at school (other than 30 x pupils crowded round a BBC comp which nobody actually got to touch!), I wanted to learn something about computers and their LANGUAGE and thought about buying a very early computer to learn on. I do remember the SINCLAIR SPECTRUM from around 1982 as myself and two younger sisters shared (or rather fighted over!) it purely to play GAMES on. But that's as far as any usage we got out of it went (though of course it was amazing FUN at the time!).

So,I wondered if I bought one of these cheap on eBay would that be a good thing and helpful to learn BASIC language on it? Something that will start me off so that I can get more confident and understand how computers work in general etc? And is the LANGUAGE still applicable now, or is it totally outdated and obsolete?

Many thanks in advance guys...

Best,

Paul David Seaman
Last edited by monsterjazzlicks on Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dell Inspiron 3737, Windows 8.1 Professional, 16GB RAM, 1.70gHz, 64-bit, Intel Core i3.
sirmorris

Re: RE : (Newbie Hello! / ZX Advice Please?)

Post by sirmorris »

Howdy :D

There is a lot of advice around. 'Start with a Pi' 'Start with Scratch' etc. I've been through this myself and I found it a really tough thing to do. You need to balance a child's need for simplicity with ease of use and, for better or worse, the kids of today need instant gratification.