Help with resistors

General Chit Chat about Sinclair Computers and their Clones
mrtinb

Help with resistors

Post by mrtinb »

Hi :)

In this other thread (Creating Wilf Rigter's ZXKBD v3), I'm building my first circuit for the ZX81, and I'm learning a lot about electronics on the way.

I need two different kind of resistors for this. 10K ohm and 5.1K ohm.
  • I have received a package with 10K ohm resistors that I've ordered. The label says 10K, but the colors are Brown, Red, Black, Black, Brown. I'm not very experienced with electronics, but my book says that that is 1.2 ohm. When I use my multimeter set at "200k", then the display says "10.0". Can anyone tell me if this is the correct resistor, that has been shipped to me?
  • I have 2.2K, 2.7K, 200, 10K resistors. I need 5.1K ohm resistors that I forgot to order. Can any of the resistors I have be combined to this value?
Martin
https://zx.rtin.be
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube
1024MAK

Re: Help with resistors

Post by 1024MAK »

mrtinb wrote:
  • I have received a package with 10K ohm resistors that I've ordered. The label says 10K, but the colors are Brown, Red, Black, Black, Brown. I'm not very experienced with electronics, but my book says that that is 1.2 ohm. When I use my multimeter set at "200k", then the display says "10.0". Can anyone tell me if this is the correct resistor, that has been shipped to me?
Hi

There are on-line resistor colour code calculators like this one that help. Note that any calculator cannot handle all the variations used by resistor manufacturers over the years. So it may not get it right every time.

Now, resistor colour codes come in a number of variations. The clue is the number of bands and the colours of the last two. Of course, the tricky bit is, which two are the last two....

With your "10kΩ" resistor, the code can be either:
Brown, Red, Black, Black, Brown
or
Brown, Black, Black, Red, Brown

So we decode both: