Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Any discussions related to the creation of new hardware or software for the ZX80 or ZX81
dr beep
Posts: 2082
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Post by dr beep »

After the first displayable screen I started to shorten the cardcreationroutine. This is needed to create room on the screen for some kind of cursor to interact with the cards and the position. I managed to create enough room to add a cursor. Still to do, but enough room.

Furthermore the first card of the stack must be shown. I must make room for the card in memory, but also in the displayroutine. I think I can find the room in making the cards 2 rows shorter. Between the suit/value/suit 2 lines can be deleted.
dr beep
Posts: 2082
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Post by dr beep »

Stack now added to the display.
Next cursormovement.
edge.jpg
edge.jpg (36.09 KiB) Viewed 3035 times
dr beep
Posts: 2082
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Post by dr beep »

Cursordisplay now added.
Startscreen also added.

Finally I can start coding the game.

Game will not show some kind off END OF GAME message like YOU WIN/LOSE.
Game will 'freeze' by erasing the cursor after end of game. Player will see if he won/lost due to the cards on screen.
You will see the end of game situation when no cursor is shown anymore.

ENTER will start game (again).
Baggers
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:49 pm

Re: Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Post by Baggers »

Looks good dr beep :D
Can't wait to see it in action!
dr beep
Posts: 2082
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Post by dr beep »

Deck is set. Next card on deck is shown. Cursormovement is ready. The deck is not shuffled, but the next card will be drawn randomly and swapping found position with last. In this way after a game the deck is shuffled and reuseable in the next game without actually doing a full shuffle.

Still to do.

Check validmove possible ( end of game test )
Make actual move.
Switch from setting cards to deleting cards
Switch back to setting cards

Room available for all this: app. 100 bytes.
dr beep
Posts: 2082
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Post by dr beep »

First screen after starting the game.

Cursor is shown and first card of the deck (here Ace of hearts).
I altered the graphics for hearts and diamonds into unfilled graphics.
In this way you see the difference between black and 'red' suits.

I placed the entire screen of EightyOne to show how the screen is built.
You see 4 partial screens. First part generates 5 cards
Next 3 parts only 4. You can see this in the size of the white top and the smaller parts between rows 2,3 and 4.
edge.jpg
edge.jpg (61.59 KiB) Viewed 2963 times
User avatar
PokeMon
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 6:48 pm

Re: Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Post by PokeMon »

Looks really nice. :)
dr beep
Posts: 2082
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Post by dr beep »

first ingame screen during setting of cards.
To do:
count cards, erase cards
bytes free : app 60
edge.gif
edge.gif (6.37 KiB) Viewed 2951 times
5 positions here still free, Ace of diamonds next to set.
Cursor under second position top row.
dr beep
Posts: 2082
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Post by dr beep »

And now my memory runs full.

I need to move the screen to #4300 and it must be shortened to max 240 bytes.
Now it is 250 bytes. In this way I can free memory needed for loading the game. After loading this will be used as screen.

Good news, I have an idea how to do it.
Bad news, I must remodel the hires routine and must hope the display will remain ok.
dr beep
Posts: 2082
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Thinking of a 1K hires game .....

Post by dr beep »

Ok, screen now on #4300 and size is 240 bytes. Stack overwrites a few bytes of the screen. Must solve that.
Also a problem with the 128 boundary for the hiresdisplay. This means moving 2 bytes.
This needs adjusting hires once again.
Post Reply