ZXPand Organizer

Discussion about ZX80 / ZX81 Software
tdg8934
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: ZXPand Organizer

Post by tdg8934 »

Greg,

I have a TS1000 and a ZXMORE (modified for a ZXPand/ZXPand+) and I see the issue happen on both of them. I am also beta testing a ZXGame Interface board for Bean thinking that might be part of the issue but found it was not. I removed the interface and the issue happens on both my TS1000 and ZXMORE with both my ZXPand and ZXPand+ devices (whether the ZXGame Interface is installed between or not).

Good news is that when I do a POKE 49151,0 before the LOAD (or do a LOAD "MYPROJ" and see if fail and then do a POKE 49151,0) it now works!

So it looks like your code should be modified with a POKE 49151,0 in your program.

Thanks,

Tim
User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 1906
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: ZXPand Organizer

Post by mrtinb »

Maybe the cool software was only tested in emulator, and not on real hardware. I have the same issue.
Martin
https://zx.rtin.be
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube
User avatar
GCHarder
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:46 pm

Re: ZXPand Organizer

Post by GCHarder »

As noted elsewhere, the videos I posted where created on a REAL, repeat, REAL TS/1000 with ZXPand+ interface. I've not come across the problem so I didn't know there was one. Adding a POKE 49151,0 to the start-up would negate the reason its there. It's there so that if say you pick item 46 from a long list when you return to the main program you'll return to item 46 in the list. POKEing 49151,0 at startup will mean you'll always start at item number 1.

You could create a little loader program...

10 POKE 49151,0
20 LOAD "MYPROJ"

Or just change line...

8020 LET PIK=PEEK 49151

to

8020 LET PIK=1

To avoid the problem altogether, but then you'll always start at item 1 in the list.

I just thought of a possible workaround by adding something like...

IF PEEK 49151>MAX THEN POKE 49151,0

To the program. MAX is the number of items in the list which used in the DIM process.

Regards;

Greg
tdg8934
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: ZXPand Organizer

Post by tdg8934 »

Thanks Greg. I was having problem with option 1 of using lines 10 and 20 so I went with 8020 LET PIK=1

CAT “>ORG”
CAT
LOAD “MYPROJ”
GOTO 10

Works but I’d rather use RUN instead of remembering to use GOTO 10. For now I’m happy it works. Thank you.
tdg8934
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: ZXPand Organizer

Post by tdg8934 »

I didn’t see the lower half of your post. I made 8005 IF PEEK 49151>MAX THEN POKE 49151,0

I did this:
CAT “>ORG”
ORG
LOAD”MYPROG STOP “ (Shift A to get STOP)
LIST 8000

8000 FAST

8005 IF PEEK 49151>MAX THEN POKE 49151,0
(Add in line 8005)

8010 LET ROW=0
8020 LET PIK=PEEK 49151
:

SAVE”>MYPROJ”

Cycle power

CAT “>ORG”
ORG
LOAD”MYPROG”
GOTO 10

It Works. We’ll stick with the line 8005 fix.

Thanks -Tim
User avatar
GCHarder
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:46 pm

Re: ZXPand Organizer

Post by GCHarder »

I've updated the program with line...

9997 IF PEEK 49151>MAX THEN POKE 49151,0

Also the HogRogProg and Benham Disk programs.

This should work as long as the VARS have been initialized before saving.

BTW, what value do you get when you PEEK 49151? I guess the T/S1000 and ZX81 aren't 100% compatible!

Regards;

Greg
tdg8934
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: ZXPand Organizer

Post by tdg8934 »

On the ZXMore I see a 144. PRINT PEEK 49151
LOAD “MYPROJ STOP “. (Shift A for the STOP)

After program runs it’s a 0 value as expected

On TS1000 I slso see a 144 under the same conditions
User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 1906
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: ZXPand Organizer

Post by mrtinb »

It works great with the updated zip-file :)
Martin
https://zx.rtin.be
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube
Post Reply