ZXPAND and Lambda 8300?

Post Reply
User avatar
Paul
Posts: 926
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:15 am
Location: Germanys west end

ZXPAND and Lambda 8300?

Post by Paul » Mon Sep 26, 2011 6:34 pm

Hi
has this been tried?
At least the RAM should work or not?
I looked at the BUS description which looks similar to ZX81, but there seem to be some missing connections where it states internaly not connected.
Sir Morris, could you please state which lines are needed? Or have a look at the BUS description and say which missing lines have to be connected internaly.

Has anybody tried any ZX81 Hardware on the PC8300?
I only know the other way, the Lamda color module which works fine on ZX81 (with missing commands beeing made by pokes).

I wonder who has any experiences with Lambda 8300 (or compatibles)
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is.

User avatar
sirmorris
Posts: 2821
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 5:45 pm
Location: oxon, uk

Re: ZXPAND and Lambda 8300?

Post by sirmorris » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:42 pm

You need /M1 and /RESET connected. I'm surprised the machine could get away without /m1 on the expansion connector...
--=== ZXpand+ ... A more moderner all-in-one upgrade solution for ZX81 ===--
* SD/MMC storage * 32K Hires-capable RAM * AY sound chip * Joystick port * Serial *
* BASIC enhancements - plug & play * Reset button * Auto-boot facility *

User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 634
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: ZXPAND and Lambda 8300?

Post by mrtinb » Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:12 am

According to this documentation it seems neither/M1 nor /RESET is connected.

https://k1.spdns.de/Vintage/Sinclair/80 ... 0180°).gif
Martin
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube

User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 634
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: ZXPAND and Lambda 8300?

Post by mrtinb » Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:12 pm

I can report that the ZXpand works ok with the Lambda 8300.

Since the Lambda 8300 has a different I/O-port for detection NTSC/PAL, an unmodified ZX81 ROM will assume NTSC and therefor the screen is unreadable. You can work almost in blind and use CONFIG "X" at the end, to change back to Lambda's built in ROM. Here I have only tried with a ZX81-compatible ROM in the Lambda 8300. I have not tried with original Lambda 8300 ROM.

https://youtu.be/N7CpivOsk20

What I type in blind is:

CONFIG "M=H"
LOAD "HI-Z"
N/L
CONFIG "X"
Martin
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube

Post Reply