Lambda colour kit

makeit2day
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 2:31 am

Re: Lambda colour kit

Post by makeit2day »

siggi wrote: Sun Sep 02, 2018 2:44 pm That are 4 analog switches (IC version of a relay). Maybe a CD4066?

http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/cd4066b.pdf

Siggi
Or it could be a CD4016 which is the same. (Same pin layout)
obi13
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 8:03 pm

Re: Lambda colour kit

Post by obi13 »

Hello to all,

I found a Lambda colour interface :D and I'm trying to use it with a ZX81 modified for video composite output.
I connected the video interface input to the zx81 output, then I connected a cable on the interface video output (not analog TV).
When I power on the computer the screen is blue instead of usual white.
W/o powering off the ZX81 I use its direct video output and display appears as usually, and keyboard is working.
I tried to initialize the interface as said in manual (poke 12301,1 then initialize to 7 (black) memory from 8192 to 10240, then RUN, ZX81 seems to hangup...), and still nothing when back on interface output.

Is there a physical modification to do inside the interface itself?
Something wrong in init process?
The ZX81 has an internal 32KB memory.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Olivier.
User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 1470
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Lambda colour kit

Post by mrtinb »

The Lambda Colour Pack occupies memory from 8k - 16k. You have to make sure your 32k RAM does NOT occupy this area.

The Lambda Colour Pack has 1k RAM, but it occupies area 8k - 12k. Area from 12k - 16k is occupied to enable/disable the interface.
Martin
https://zx.rtin.be
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube
User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 1470
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Lambda colour kit

Post by mrtinb »

I have one as well, and have used it with the Lambda, but havn't tried it with the ZX81.

However since my color CRT broke, the interface has been put away.
Martin
https://zx.rtin.be
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube
Post Reply