Back to Life.. almost..from dead to no audio and a faulty RAM

bola_dor

Back to Life.. almost..from dead to no audio and a faulty RAM

Post by bola_dor »

Ok Here is the thing..
I am new to Spectrum.. but a CZ1000 guy since 14 years old..
CZ1000 are argentinian rebranded TS1000, the only difference is a sticker covering the Timex TS1000 painting with one reading Czerweny CZ1000 and they are PAL-n (same 50Hz that PAL-b in case of BW).
Ok the Spectrum: this is a CZ2000.. a Portugal Timex made hardware assembled in Argentina, with a ISSUE 6A board (48Kb ofcourse) and a a PAL-b video output in a black plastic case like that of the TS1500 and the same rubber keyboard with the metal plate as the Sinclair Spectrum...
I've got this completely dead. No video.. and the -5v and 12v rails dead... I've made a complete electrolytic recap (cheap black radials, :cry: ).. nothing new.. then I changed Tr4 and Tr5.. and did the composite mod with a capacitor... Luckily the low ram was not dead.. and it opened her eyes to life again..
keyboard membrane tapes were broken so I managed to fix them.. (will ask for a replacement later).. and the loud speaker is not beeping.. (good news is that if I plug the mic to my notebook I can hear the typing.. so tomorrow I will change TR7 and perhaps D9..

I have lot of trouble loading programs but that's not a surprise.. I think I need an amplifier...

I tried the https://github.com/brendanalford/zx-dia ... Tape-Tests sadly it didn't pass the checksum returning to BASIC with a " 4 Out of memory "
I tried several times with always the same results..
So I Have a faulty memory between 25000-32767 .
I think I will replace e all the low RAM 4116 using 4164 that are more reliable and will cost me about 4£ from China the lot of 20... ( I have a CZ/TZ1016 RAMPACK to repair to)..