Repairing ZX Spectrum issue two

Pygmalion

Repairing ZX Spectrum issue two

Post by Pygmalion »

I recently dusted off my ZX Spectrum, which my father bought me and smuggled to Eastern Europe in the first half of the 1980s. What a story.

I made my first programming steps in Basic and Assembler on this computer. Those were the days.

But it does not work. I checked the -5V, +5V and +12V lines and they are fine. But when I switch it on, all I see is a flashing square (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9GzntY5dAAM). The pattern of the flashing square changes between resets.

Do you have any idea how I can make this thing work?

I have basic knowledge of electronics and soldering.

There are few peculiarities on the board: big cooler on ULA, unusual spider mod and something that looks like extra audio output.
Attachments
board.jpg
1024MAK

Re: Repairing ZX Spectrum issue two

Post by 1024MAK »

Someone has worked on this board before. It's unusual for the 'lower' 4116 DRAM to be in sockets. The 4116 chips also have a very late date code for an issue two board. So they may have been replaced during 1983 or later.

There are a number of variations of the spider mod. I don't remember if I've seen this version before.

I'll have a look at your video later.

Mark
ZX81 Variations
ZX81 Chip Pin-outs
ZX81 Video Transistor Buffer Amp

:!: Standby alert :!:
There are four lights!
Step up to red alert. Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb :!:
Looking forward to summer later in the year.
redgatemodels

Post by redgatemodels »

unusual capacitors too, look like axial have been used instead of radial. That red and black wire is soldered to the location where the Plus case reset button usually connects to ....

Very early Issue 2 as well with the ceramic disc caps
1024MAK

Post by 1024MAK »

As the ‘upper’ DRAM is in sockets, the first thing to do is to remove these, if only to eliminate them as the cause.