Great to meet you

Introduce yourself to your fellow forum members - what was your journey into the Sinclair world?
JonnyGee

Great to meet you

Post by JonnyGee »

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this message board. So by way of an intro.... My first computer was a ZX80 which I only owned for about a year as I persuaded a friend to buy it from me so that I could get a ZX81 - wish I'd held onto it now but the ZX81 was an important stepping stone. I moved onto a Beeb after that and from there I've ended up having a career in IT.... which all stems back to my ZX80.
SO, as good ZX80's are rare as budgie's teeth and cost ££££ I decided to build one from a replica PCB. I have to own up that I bought the PCB a couple of years ago and bought all the IC from eBay and it's stayed in the cupboard as I considered it would take more time than I had to build it. So Covid strikes and out came the box, and I was pleased how quickly it all came together. I started with the IC sockets (I decided to socket them all in case I had any duds), then resistors, caps, 3.5mm sockets, diodes, the modulator, then the 7805 regulator for which I had to fashion a heatsink. I then inserted the ICs and I was quite pleased with the results.
initial-build.jpg
There were a couple of faults however. All I could see was a patterned screen from the modulator and no sign of the "K" prompt.
with-faults.jpg
So I checked the board and my soldering seemed to be in order. I had ordered a ZX8-CCB from Pokemon to give me composite output so I tried that instead of the modulator. I wasn't getting the pattern any more but still no "K" prompt. So I started looking at the ICs and began swapping some out with some spares and....I got it working by replacing IC16 (74LS10). Via the modulator I was still getting the lines but using the ZX8-CCB it was perfect.