Hello from Cambridgeshire, UK

Introduce yourself to your fellow forum members - what was your journey into the Sinclair world?
Flatulentia

Hello from Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by Flatulentia »

Hi,

My first foray in to home computing was borrowing a friend's heavily modified ZX80 in early 1981. It was in a large homemade wooden case with a custom full-size keyboard and integrated PSU. I was instantly hooked.

I think it must have been some time in late 1981 when I'd managed to save up enough pennies to send off for a ZX81 kit, largely thanks to a £20 discount coupon in a Sinclair-related computing magazine. Total cost was £29.99 + £2.95 P&P if memory serves. I was a 17 year old apprentice electronics engineer at the time and couldn't wait to get my teeth into it.

The sheer excitement of switching it on for the very first time and seeing that cursor looking back at me is hard to describe, especially as I knew what a huge privilege it was to own an outright paid-for home computer at my age back then. I felt a simultaneous mixture of great pride and humility and have called the man behind it 'Uncle Clive' to this day.

I couldn't afford to buy a 16K RAMPACK so ended up building one using parts I purchased for a sensible price through my employer. That was quite an adventure too.

Time moved on and the Sinclair ZX Spectrum 48K arrived and went on discount for £139(?) from WHSmith, so I begrudgingly sold the ZX81 to raise funds toward that and started slowly buying and building add-ons for it. It ended up in a custom-made steel case with a custom-designed power supply and full-size keyboard and an MGT D Plus floppy drive interface and 3.5" floppy drive mounted in the front along with a "Snapshot" button.

Time moved on again and I realised how much I missed the old ZX81, so I bought one in an eBay auction in 2000 and have had the same one ever since.