Newbie to the Sinclairverse, help with ZXpand+?

Introduce yourself to your fellow forum members - what was your journey into the Sinclair world?
PaulKD

Newbie to the Sinclairverse, help with ZXpand+?

Post by PaulKD »

Hey all,
I'm Paul, from Cleveland, Ohio, USA. I am a sometime Texas Instruments TI 99 4A enthusiast, and I was recently lamenting the fact that these consoles used to cost me 15 bucks, lol, and now they go for 125 dollars in lousy condition. As a project, I started to cast about for a retro computing platform that would still be fun and cheap enough to get into. I knew about the ZX81 only from youtube videos. I never heard of a Spectrum until I saw that movie Bandersnatch, and in searching for what computer the main character was using to write his game, I got into Sinclair history. I really liked the ZX81... the black and white and no sound... I wondered what I could do with it, and I saw all kinds of things I liked on YouTube.
I will mention that I am not a programmer, OR an electronics guy.. I do electronic music on Midi gear and play around with TTRPGs and do other crafty stuff. I got into retro computers completely by accident. I love playing with my TI 99 4As and so I collected up some Timex Sinclair 1000's with composite video mods from people I met online... I am really enjoying using them, but also having a problem with the ZXpand+ that I was lucky enough to get a hold of. It seems like I need to update the firmware, and I cannot seem to... do that. If anyone on here knows about the ZXpand+ and would be willing to talk to me about it, I would be most appreciative.

Thank you in advance, and thanks for admitting me to the forum! Looking forward to learning a lot about this awesome little computer!!!
Kind Regards~Paul
1024MAK

Re: Newbie to the Sinclairverse, help with ZXpand+?

Post by 1024MAK »

Hello and welcome to our forum Paul!

:D :D :D

I hope you enjoy this forum :D