How do you add/run an app?

Discussion forums for users of the Cambridge Z88 Portable Computer
Post Reply
User avatar
Erm
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:07 pm
Contact:

How do you add/run an app?

Post by Erm »

Erm, this might be really obvious but I cannot find an intuitive way to run an .app on my Z88.

Google doesn't seem to be as useful as it once was, or is it just me?

Hardware: Z88 with 512k internal flash.

Running Eazylink I got the Lemmings files over to my RAM.0. There are files with .app, .ap0 and .ap1 extensions.

I assume the idea is to somehow add new applications to the main Index list of applications (with Diary, Pipedream etc). I thought the way to do that might be using Romcombiner somehow, but I haven't tried that yet. It's confusing so I thought I'd ask here first.
I'm Chris, a Brit in Germany (Chr$ on the QL forum). https:\\QXL.WIN < QL related collection.
Chris_68
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2023 8:05 am

Re: How do you add/run an app?

Post by Chris_68 »

Hi,

Go to filer, []F, mark the file .app, (enter) and then press INDEX and say yes to install

/Chris
User avatar
Paul
Posts: 1550
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:15 am
Location: Germanys west end

Re: How do you add/run an app?

Post by Paul »

Are you aware that apps were invented way after the end of production of the Z88?
In former times we had programs :ugeek:
Apps are defined as Applications worth less than one Dollar :D
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is.
User avatar
Erm
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: How do you add/run an app?

Post by Erm »

Erm, yes. They have an .app extension and are referred to as applications, so despite me being old enough to normally use 'program' or even 'executable/exe', I thought it would be more correct to call them apps.
Chris_68 wrote: Mon Jun 05, 2023 6:34 pm Hi,

Go to filer, []F, mark the file .app, (enter) and then press INDEX and say yes to install

/Chris
Thanks Chris. I'll try that. I did a hard reset in desparation because I just can't get Eazylink2 to connect to the Z88 at all today, so now my Lemmings files are gone. All I get is 'Protocol error: Unknown ESC command' on the Z88 and a 'Command failed! Please check the serial connection' error on the win10 PC. It worked about 70% of the time yesterday (in both normal and turbo speed), so no idea what's changed, probably windows doing something odd or a flaky lead, no idea. Very frustrating.
I'm Chris, a Brit in Germany (Chr$ on the QL forum). https:\\QXL.WIN < QL related collection.
User avatar
Erm
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: How do you add/run an app?

Post by Erm »

Blimey, I solved the dodgy connection with EazyLink2! I was running it off a generic 6v PSU and I suppose it must have been providing noisy voltage. Fresh batteries in and now it works.
I'm Chris, a Brit in Germany (Chr$ on the QL forum). https:\\QXL.WIN < QL related collection.
User avatar
Erm
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: How do you add/run an app?

Post by Erm »

Spoke too soon, it's now totally unreliable again and I can't connect/move files :(
I'm Chris, a Brit in Germany (Chr$ on the QL forum). https:\\QXL.WIN < QL related collection.
Chris_68
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2023 8:05 am

Re: How do you add/run an app?

Post by Chris_68 »

Hi, Been there...
Could be the connector, try to change RS-232 from PC slightly to see if that helps.

If it worked fine for a while I guess the cable and USB adapter are ok, I had problem with bad solder joints at PCB and connector.
Have you checked all settings in EazyLink, does it work better i you use Xmodem?

There are a great How-To using Windterm you could try,
User avatar
Erm
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: How do you add/run an app?

Post by Erm »

I managed to get it working for long enough to move the zetriz files across and have installed that, so that's something. I removed a battery and am now just running off the PSU, but Lemmings didn't install (seemed to work, but nothing appeared on the menu). And now the file transfer is shit again.

Oh, hmmm, I think the barrel plug is dodgy. Pushing that in a bit seems to help with file transfer. I'll swap that. I've now got Lemmings going! This is rather frustrating.
I'm Chris, a Brit in Germany (Chr$ on the QL forum). https:\\QXL.WIN < QL related collection.
Post Reply