EightyOne tape load problem

Emulator and emulator development specific topics
Post Reply
Gagarin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:41 pm

EightyOne tape load problem

Post by Gagarin » Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:01 pm

I have just downloaded EightyOne V1.12 ZX81 emulator and it will not open my tapes or even show me a K cursor so that I can use LOAD ""
Any Help with this matter would be very much appreciated
I am using an ASUS laptop with windows 10 64 bit and Nvidia GEFORCE
With thanks

Gagarin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:41 pm

EightyOne tape load problem

Post by Gagarin » Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:29 pm

Hello
I have just installed EightyOne V1.12 and I cannot load any tapes or even have the K cursor to load anything via LOAD ""
All I have is a white screen
I have an ASUS laptop with windows 10 64 bit Nvidia GEFORCE
Any help with this please?
With thanks

User avatar
Dim_75
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:04 pm
Location: Paris, FR

Re: EightyOne tape load problem

Post by Dim_75 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:06 am

Hello Gagarin,

Can you be more precise ? are you talking about loading .TAP or .P files or real tape via the wave loader or audio in ?
Does it show the "K" cursor before trying to load something ? If not, you may have a problem even without try to load something i think, try to load again the EightyOne package.
Mine is working on all my PC (W10, W7 and XP).

If is real tape, you may have to tune your tape player to find the 'good' sound, or maybe use a tool to read the k7 and 'clean' the signal.
Get a try and tell us ;)

User avatar
mrtinb
Posts: 930
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: EightyOne tape load problem

Post by mrtinb » Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:22 pm

First get the emulator to work (getting the K).
  • Select Options>Hardware
  • Select ZX81
  • Select Settings to expand further options
  • Select the Advanced tab
  • Select the "..." next to ROM File
  • Now select the ROM file: ZX81.edition2.rom in the ROM folder
Martin
ZX81, Lambda 8300, Commodore 64, Mac G4 Cube

Fruitcake
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: EightyOne tape load problem

Post by Fruitcake » Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:11 pm

If you have updated from a much older version of EightyOne then you will need to delete the EightyOne.ini file saved by the previous version, which is located in a hidden folder under your user account name. When you next run the emulator it will create a new ini file, but now of the correct format. It will also reset everything back to their default settings and so, aside from selecting 'ZX81' and '16K' RAM in the hardware settings dialog, you shouldn't need to change any other settings.

E.g. On Windows 7, if your Windows user name was Fruitcake then the EightyOne.ini file would be located here:
C:\Users\fruitcake\AppData\Roaming\EightyOne\EightyOne.ini

You can either type the full path into an Windows Explorer window, or change the folder view properties to show hidden folders and then you can browse to it.

I'm not sure if Windows 10 uses the same folder or not, but I imagine it does.

Gagarin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:41 pm

Re: EightyOne tape load problem

Post by Gagarin » Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:10 pm

Thanks so much - all up and running now!
It was the old EightyOne.ini file causing the problem
I deleted it in my Appdata and re-installed V1.12 and all running well again
Thanks for all your help
With thanks

User avatar
XavSnap
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 4:23 pm

Re: EightyOne tape load problem

Post by XavSnap » Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:02 am

Someone asked me :
-The LOAD "" display a 'S', but the tape don't load...
- You typed ... 'j', shift+'P", shift+'P' ?
- No, 'j' and shift+'Q' !

:mrgreen:

Post Reply