Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Any discussions related to the creation of new hardware or software for the ZX80 or ZX81
dr beep
Posts: 1189
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Thu May 04, 2017 7:03 pm

Press a key to see next level, First 75 in the program
LR001.p
(10.54 KiB) Downloaded 85 times

dr beep
Posts: 1189
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Thu May 04, 2017 9:17 pm

Automatic move of player now working to test walking
LR_move.p
(10.63 KiB) Downloaded 90 times

User avatar
dasteph
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:51 am
Location: Sydney, AU
Contact:

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dasteph » Thu May 04, 2017 9:49 pm

dr beep wrote:
Thu May 04, 2017 2:48 pm
Are the original levels somewhere available in ASCII-format??
Indeed they are, the Apple ][e levels are in a java version of the games on github: https://github.com/SimonHung/LodeRunner.

sirmorris
Posts: 2813
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 5:45 pm

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by sirmorris » Thu May 04, 2017 10:32 pm

I wonder who (or what?!) U.W. is? (Approx. L 66)

User avatar
dasteph
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:51 am
Location: Sydney, AU
Contact:

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dasteph » Thu May 04, 2017 10:48 pm

Legend has it that Doug Smith wrote the level designer and got the kids in his neighbourhood to work on extra level. If true I'd bet it's one of the kids initials.

User avatar
dasteph
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:51 am
Location: Sydney, AU
Contact:

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dasteph » Thu May 04, 2017 11:36 pm

The levels technically have one extra layer at the bottom, which is always a Block like character. So there is no need to store that with the level data. Good to keep in mind however. To get the Scores and last layer in the screen needs to shift up by 1 block.

I've mocked up the first level with all the details required in game, and it all looks convincingly Lode Runner.
scrdesign.png
scrdesign.png (14.25 KiB) Viewed 1611 times

dr beep
Posts: 1189
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Fri May 05, 2017 10:21 am

I was thinking of putting the score-line 1 lower so I don't need an extra check on outofscreen-character.
( it is here a halfstone, not full from unbreakable brick)

User avatar
dasteph
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:51 am
Location: Sydney, AU
Contact:

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dasteph » Fri May 05, 2017 11:21 am

Yes, the half stone is in keeping with better visual versions of the game. A full block would start to look a little strange, particularly when full unbreakable stones are on the bottom row.

dr beep
Posts: 1189
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Mon Jun 05, 2017 7:40 pm

Well, "Calculus Mazximus" is ready, time to pick up LODERUNNER again.
First movement bug solved. Setting back background of ladder went wrong.

dr beep
Posts: 1189
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:43 pm

Well,

have a first walk-around and let me here your comments. Speed, movement ok? etc....

Controls:
Q=up
A=down
5=left
6=right

Well, in fact IN-ports it is.
LR001.p
(10.69 KiB) Downloaded 88 times

Post Reply