Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Any discussions related to the creation of new hardware or software for the ZX80 or ZX81
dr beep
Posts: 1178
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:47 pm

Let me make first remark: controls will get multiple keyreading for i.e. up and right together.

sirmorris
Posts: 2813
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 5:45 pm

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by sirmorris » Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:28 am

It's really nice :D I think the speed is just right. The movement feels very smooth. I'm excited to see how this game works out!

dr beep
Posts: 1178
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:27 am

Collecting gold : working
Display escape ladder : working
Uptheladder to next level : working

To do :
Digging
Repair of hole
Movement enemies
Score
Dead (also by suicide)
Better controls

Nico to do:
Display of same brick on fakebrick and test field in compressed data.
(If not too slow, better visible screen)

Extra's:
User defined keys
ZXPAND Joystick

NOT:
Leveleditor, due to compressed levels and the effect any change will have on the leveldata.

dr beep
Posts: 1178
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:19 pm

Digging now added.

Only repeater must be shut down.
Now too fast in digging holes.

After that ....
Timer for rebuilding holes

EDIT:

digging had few bugs, now repaired.
Next : rebuilding walls.

dr beep
Posts: 1178
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Thu Jun 08, 2017 7:01 pm

LodeRunner sofar:

Controls :
Q=up
A=down
5=left
6=right
Z=dig
SHIFT R= restart level
SHIFT N= Next level

Enemies not moving nor will kill you, but you can play the levels.
Try digging your way to the gold.
LR002.p
(10.89 KiB) Downloaded 69 times

dr beep
Posts: 1178
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:16 pm

Score line now added.

Some errors in the levels found.
The levels are compressed, smaller than on the ZX Spectrum.
Some levels are unplayable due to found errors or very hard, so some adjustments are needed.

Now during printing of the level the coordinates of the enemies are stored for later movement.
ERRORLEVEL.png
(39.32 KiB) Downloaded 337 times

dr beep
Posts: 1178
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:03 pm

Short in time, but today I altered the timing of rebuilding the digged holes. Now they react more like the original.

dr beep
Posts: 1178
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:34 pm

Player gets killed when trapped inside rebuilding digged holes.
Enemy kill is found, but no movement yet so no dead either.

User avatar
siggi
Posts: 881
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:30 am
Location: Dauernheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by siggi » Mon Jul 03, 2017 2:23 pm

dr beep wrote:
Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:16 pm
ERRORLEVEL.png
Is that screen correct? There is a "ladder" in the right picture (top right), while there is a "wall" on the left picture.

Siggi
My ZX81 web-server: online since 2007
http://zx81-siggi.endoftheinternet.org/index.html

dr beep
Posts: 1178
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:35 am
Location: Boxmeer

Re: Lode Runner on the ZX81?

Post by dr beep » Mon Jul 03, 2017 7:28 pm

siggi wrote:
Mon Jul 03, 2017 2:23 pm
dr beep wrote:
Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:16 pm
ERRORLEVEL.png
Is that screen correct? There is a "ladder" in the right picture (top right), while there is a "wall" on the left picture.

Siggi
First of all, the level is compressed to fit a smaller screen.
Second. due to compression the gameplay is different (can't walk underneath)
Third. Yes, ladder is different.

The level needed adjustment so now it is as playable as on the ZX Spectrum.
Same to do for 2 other levels with errors

Post Reply