ZX81 Noob development questions

Any discussions related to the creation of new hardware or software for the ZX80 or ZX81
Mozartkügel

ZX81 Noob development questions

Post by Mozartkügel »

Hi guys! I'm completely new to the ZX81. I started out with the C64/128 back in the day but I've become really interested in most old home computers and their homebrew scenes. I saw a few game videos on Villordsutch youtube channel and got excited about the fun looking graphics on the ZX81. I found a cheap ZX81 on a local auction site too, so I have one on the way to me now, yay!

I have a couple of noob questions if I may:

1. Are there some dedicated graphic tool(s) to create ZX81 graphics? It would be fun to create some game mock up(s) as a first step.

2. What's the graphics mode used in for example Uwol and Alien Mind? Is it a "standard text mode"? I love those chunky graphics! :)

2. Do you guys have experience with ZXpand, ZXblast or Vdrive? Are they very similar or is there one you prefer. ZXpand seemed to have some really nice features at least. I love that it has built in AY sound.

3. I was thinking of trying to tinker around a little bit in C for the ZX81. I know C isn't the optimal language for these old machines, but the main point would be to have fun. I've not enjoyed basic or assembly as much so far (maybe it's because I'm too busy all the time). I found this amazing looking C tutorial series in German: http://forum.tlienhard.com/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=8 Has anyone tried going through it with the help of google translate? :D Are there any tutorials in English or perhaps some tiny C template that would set up say background graphics / "sprites" / keyboard & joystick input to learn from?

Actually I just realized that Uwol is open source and written in C. I'm more of a tinkerer than a real coder so it's a bit of a overwhelmingly big project to decipher "backwards". I need to study it though.