Doom 3D ZX81 style

Any discussions related to the creation of new hardware or software for the ZX80 or ZX81
Bukster

Doom 3D ZX81 style

Post by Bukster »

Here's something I've been working on for a few months. How about a 3D game where unlike 3D monster maze, etc you actually can turn your head and walk forwards or backwards? Here's a proof of concept game. All you can do is pick up the spinning ankh treasure which releases a key. When you pick up the key, a portal opens to the next stage. Obviously nothing really to do, but shows what it might look like. Clearly, this isn't going to render Doom Eternal at 60 frames per second, but that would be a bit ambitious for a ZX81.
I'm imaging a sort of Mummy's Tomb type game so this will need some enemies and weapons to complete the game. Any thoughts? This bare bones game could be the basis for anybody out there who wants to make something with it. Anybody interested?
Screenshot 2021-10-03 142354.jpg
Grab the treasure
Screenshot 2021-10-03 142510.jpg
Grab the key
Screenshot 2021-10-03 143148.jpg
Get to the portal
3D Draw 021021.p
(7.7 KiB) Downloaded 126 times
Here's an emulator file in case anybody would like a go with it. Q/A = forward/backward. O/P = left right turn. Press zero to reset the room
SafePit

Re: Doom 3D ZX81 style

Post by SafePit »

Very cool. Played the demo for a bit trying it out. I'm interested. I wonder if it could be used for a simple maze game or even a dungeon crawler. The walls feel distorted though—seems to grow wider faster than taller.
Bukster

Post by Bukster »

This is an unusual program in that it needs a kind of calibration. There are scaling tables to calculate the size of objects and the walls. So those tables will need to be tweaked to make a better size transition.