REM Line length

Any discussions related to the creation of new hardware or software for the ZX80 or ZX81
Vorticon

REM Line length

Post by Vorticon »

Hello.
I've recently dug up my TS-1000 computer from storage and have decided to teach myself Z80 assembly on it using Toni Baker's Mastering Machine Code on Your ZX 81 book. I already have substantial assembly language experience with the TMS9900 and 8080 CPUs on other retro platforms so I'm not a total beginner, but doing assembly on the Zeddy hardware (not emulation) appears to be a particular form of masochism :lol:
Nonetheless, I am making heady progress. The book, although advertised as a complete beginner's book, is rather amateurish and leaves a lot of important details. For example, it presents several ways to enter and save machine language code using either REM statements or arrays along with example code, but does not explain what all those mysterious address used are and how the code itself works. I figured it out after gathering scattered information from various sources, but I can see how this would be a very difficult task for a newcomer. And don't get me started about the reference tables at the end of the book which use all sorts of notations nowhere explained in the book. I might as well have been staring at an Aztec codex...

But enough whining. I do have a question: How many characters can be stored in a single REM statement?
1024MAK

Re: REM Line length

Post by 1024MAK »

There is the assumption that an owner has read and understood the Sinclair ZX81 BASIC Programming manual (this was supplied as standard with all ZX81 computers, I don’t know if a similar book was supplied with TS1000 or TS1500 computers or other official ‘clones’).

Despite it’s title, the manual goes further than just the normal introduction to BASIC, in chapter 27 it explains the organisation of memory. Essential if you are programming in assembly language. As is chapter 28, where the system variables are detailed.