Which ROM for Minstrel 3?

Discussions about Sinclair ZX80 and ZX81 Hardware
8008guy

Which ROM for Minstrel 3?

Post by 8008guy »

Hi,

I just soldered together my Minstrel 3 board today. I have a 27C64 that I need to burn the SW in. Two questions:

1. What ROM image do those who have built one suggest I use?

2. In the docs it is suggested that the jumper settings for A13/A14/A15 be set high. That puts the ROM image in the top 8k of the 64k ROM. (I understand that the ROM still shows up at block 0 in the ZX81 memory map.) But why not burn the code at the beginning of the ROM and set the jumpers to GND?

Other than that, WOW. I was REALLY impressed with the dense clean layout of the PCB. Really nice job. I have been designing and soldering together PCB's for 50 years and this is one of the nicest boards I put together. It made a really nice way to start the New Year!

len
Paul

Re: Which ROM for Minstrel 3?

Post by Paul »

I'm sorry but I have no idea.
I really wanted to stay with my new year's resolution!
But on the second day of the year you made me buy another zeddy :evil:
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is.
tynemouthsoftware

Post by tynemouthsoftware »

Thank you, I'm pleased you appreciate the work that went into the layout of the Minstrel boards.

The ROM can be the standard ZX81 ROM. I suggest using all the jumpers high to allow compatibility with the most types of EPROM. The pins that are used for the higher address lines on a 27C512 are used for VPP and /PGM on smaller capacity EPROMs, which usually should be pulled high. I generally go for that arrangement on things like this.

If you are using the 27C64, then the 8K ROM fills it, and you should have pins 27 and 1 connected to 5V for read mode, and pin 26 is NC so just putting all the jumpers to high will do the trick.

Thanks,

Dave
1024MAK

Post by 1024MAK »