ZX81 exhibiting strange behaviour - dodgy solder joints or something else?

Discussions about Sinclair ZX80 and ZX81 Hardware
PROSM

ZX81 exhibiting strange behaviour - dodgy solder joints or something else?

Post by PROSM »

First of all, please mention to me any misconceptions or incorrect facts in this post - I am fairly new to the ZX81, and especially so to the hardware side of things.

Having finally gotten the chance to test the computer that I acquired back in February, you can understand I was a little bit disappointed to find that it was not in full working order. I have detailed my observations below, in the hope that the problem might be fixable.

The symptoms

Except where otherwise noted, the computer is being operated without a RAM pack (i.e. just the internal 1K in use). I cannot provide photographs of the screen as I forgot to take them before I dismantled the computer, and I am nervous about causing further damage by powering it up in this semi-functional state.

The computer puts out a solid white screen at boot rather than the usual inverse K cursor. Pressing keys produces different results - pressing P will place on the screen two or three scanlines of short black strips. The strips appear at different points on each scanline, they are not aligned vertically. Further pressing of the P key causes no changes to this screen, until the 27th keypress (which, to my mind, produces the first character that should spill over onto the second line of the input area), when the computer seems to crash. The image on the TV rolls, presumably because the CPU is locked up and therefore is not triggering the vertical sync pulses? I have noted that with the 16K RAM pack installed, pressing P just once will crash the computer.