How to Load a Program

General Chit Chat about Sinclair Computers and their Clones
Post Reply
User avatar
TMAOne
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

How to Load a Program

Post by TMAOne » Thu Dec 27, 2018 10:43 pm

There has been much discussion of late upon the perils of loading a decades-old Sinclair ZX81 program from cassette tape, and the best volume control setting etc. to use. I humbly feel that the following method, developed after years of research, yields the most consistent results:
  • Invent a time machine.
  • Go back to 1982 and use the highest quality tape you can afford.
  • Come back, and sacrifice a lamb upon The Stone of Sinclair.
  • Connect all cables and position the tape in the recorder.
  • Bow three times to the East.
  • Click your ruby slippers together and repeat: "This time it will work, this time it will work,..."
  • Set your tone and volume control to where they were 35 years ago that one time when this file loaded back properly.
  • Secure the RAM pack to the motherboard with cross-beams, bailing wire, hotglue, and duct tape.
  • Enter LOAD "" and press New Line.
  • Immerse the computer, (especially the LM7805), and RAM pack in liquid nitrogen.
  • Close your eyes and hope as you press PLAY.
  • Discover to your horror that you missed and hit RECORD and PLAY.
  • Exhale deeply, and go play Doom on your 486 laptop.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 2560
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:56 am
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: How to Load a Program

Post by 1024MAK » Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:04 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Mark

User avatar
gammaray
Posts: 586
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 2:44 am
Location: Texas

Re: How to Load a Program

Post by gammaray » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:28 am

:D
5-TS1000,UK ZX81<-Sheelagh, US ZX81, 2-TS1500/KDLX , 3-TS2040 printer, 2-TS2020 cassette decks, ZXPAND+AY, ZeddyNET, ZXBlast, UDG, ZX8CCB, AERCO, BUILDS/REPAIRS ZX Spectrum, ZX80 Minstrel, ZXMAX48 v1 v2, 2-TS-2068, ROM, 16kRAM

User avatar
Ed in SoDak
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:03 am

Re: How to Load a Program

Post by Ed in SoDak » Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:04 pm

I built this loader circuit. Copy it exactly and you can't fail!
:mrgreen:
-Ed
Attachments
ZeddyTapeLoadCircuit.jpg

User avatar
XavSnap
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 4:23 pm

Re: How to Load a Program

Post by XavSnap » Sat Jan 05, 2019 10:56 pm

Thanks Ed in SoDak,

Do you plan to rebuild this "Loading-failure exhauster" ?
:ugeek:

User avatar
Ed in SoDak
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:03 am

Re: How to Load a Program

Post by Ed in SoDak » Sun Jan 06, 2019 5:38 am

Yes, certainly! I see from Ian's post I must wire in a pair of Ruby Slippers. How could I have missed that? :shock:
-Ed

Post Reply